EWWD Academy Intern Diaries: James DeAntonis

By Evie Fisher

EWWD Academy Intern Diaries: James DeAntonis

Next in our Intern Diaries series we spoke to James DeAntonis, who has just finished his first rotation in the Data Science department. Read on to see what he learned and his experiences in the department.

Which department were you in, and what were some tasks that you carried out?

My first rotation was in the Data Science department. I coded some projects in Python, researched some wearable tech, and learned about sensors and data collection.

What skills did you learn from this rotation/department?

I re-learned to code in Python, developed effective research techniques and feeding back to my team on previous tasks.

What has been your biggest challenge?

My biggest challenge by a mile would be coming out of lockdown etc. Having not spoken to anyone outside home - coming to the office was a sharp change for me which I had to get used to. Luckily everyone has been nice and open for a chat 😊

What have you enjoyed the most about the internship so far?

I have enjoyed having other interns in the same boat as me – all new and excited about the experience… I thought I was going to be the only one!

If there’s one thing you could improve, what would it be?

I for sure could think of a few things to improve, but for me the one thing that I would have loved to do is work with everyone in a department on something. I feel like I didn’t get a full scope of the department I was in, because I was mainly working with one side of the team.


When do you have the most fun at work?

I usually have the most positive energy on a Friday afternoon - the week ending and looking forward to my weekend :D Sometimes I am very positive when starting some new and exciting tasks!

What has been your most successful project to date?

I think my most successful project to date would be the wearable device research I did with Isaac, another intern, in the first few weeks. This has been widely used by a few colleagues, and this has provided some good progress.

What do you like about working at this company?

I really like the office being in the middle of Brighton. It’s easily accessible from afar (bus or train), we are VERY spoilt for lunch choices and the seafront is so close by for a nice lunch on the beach!

We're wishing James the best of luck in his next rotation! You can also see his first blog on our YouTube channel here.