EWWD Academy Intern Diaries: Rebecca Tirsolea

By Veronica Kocovska

EWWD Academy Intern Diaries: Rebecca Tirsolea

We have recently onboarded our 5 UK interns at the EWWD Academy and we’ve taken the time to find out what their thoughts are at the offset of this two-year internship.

In this first post, we’re putting the spotlight on Rebecca Tirsolea who takes us through what she is hoping to get out of the EWWD Academy internship, what she is most apprehensive about, and what her strongest skill is!

What are you hoping to get out of the EWWD Academy?

I’m hoping to absorb plenty of knowledge from all of the intelligent people I’ll be working alongside, and I’m also hoping the experience opens my eyes to a new career path I might not have ordinarily considered.

How did you find the interview process?

It was really straight forward and one of the more pleasant interview processes I’ve been through. The application forms were no hassle to complete, the response times were great and the interview panel were concise and really accommodating! I was, coincidentally, in France at the time and the panel were happy to have the interview over Teams which I am very grateful for.

Which department are you most excited to be working in?

I’m really looking forward to marketing and communications. I had been looking into marketing courses before the pandemic and in my previous roles (mainly in hospitality) I’d help with the company’s online presence and advertising whenever possible. In second place would be The Project Management rotation, which is where I’m at now!

What are your professional aspirations?

This is a question I’m still trying to find the answer to. I’ve always really looked up to managers who value and empower their employees, so I’d love to be able to demonstrate that with a team of my own one day.

When you hear ‘Medical Technology’, what springs to mind?

My dad has become interested in ‘biohacking’ which involves implementing lifestyle changes, but also using wearable technology to monitor physiological data, and potentially improve aspects of your health. Just to name a few, he owns: Oura Ring, Apollo Neuro, blood glucose monitor, infrared light therapy. Though most of his devices are for wellness purposes as opposed to medical, it opened my eyes to how important digital medicine is.

What are you most apprehensive about starting at the EWWD Academy?

I’m most apprehensive for either the data science or technology rotation, only because it’s furthest from anything I’ve done before. But I’m keeping an open mind because this is all such a new experience for me and I want to get stuck into every segment of the Academy!

What attracted you to apply for this internship?

Having lost my job as a result of the pandemic, I started reflecting on what path I wanted to follow career-wise. I left academia to work at 17, but I’ve since decided that I’m not ready to stop learning. What attracted me to apply was having the opportunity to work in and expand my knowledge on all of the various departments.

What would you say is your strongest skill?

I’d say my strongest skill is remaining motivated which can be especially important when you’re a part of a team. Whatever the answer, giving up won’t get you there!

One of the rotations toward the end of the internship will be in France – have you ever been to France before?

Yes, my mum is Belgian with lots of family in France and my (Romanian) auntie also lives there, in Saint-Germaine-En-Laye.

We're wishing Rebecca the best of luck for her internship!

You can also come and see some of the other interns' interviews on our YouTube Channel.