EWWD Academy Intern Diaries: Isaac Burrell-Rann

By Evie Fisher

EWWD Academy Intern Diaries: Isaac Burrell-Rann

Our interns have completed the first rotation of their internship, where they spent 3 months learning about all their assigned department had to offer. As they move into the next department in the internship plan, we wanted to hear their thoughts about their first rotation.

First we have Isaac Burrell-Rann, who takes us through what he's learned so far and his experiences from the internship!

Which department were you in, and what were some tasks that you carried out?

My first rotation was in technology. During my 3 months in this department, my tasks included shadowing and assisting developers (both front-end and back-end) with their work, conducting product research, and helping prepare for and participate in scrums.

What skills did you learn from this department?

I had the opportunity to learn the basics of coding and GitHub. I also gained new skills in other software including Jira, Miro, Speedcurve and Trello.

What has been your biggest challenge?

I was a little apprehensive starting the internship as it was my first position after completing university. However, I adapted to the role quickly and have thoroughly enjoyed my time with the company since.

What have you enjoyed the most about the internship so far?

That I have been able to gain experience in a field of work that I may not have had the chance to otherwise. It has given me the opportunity to discover new and exciting interests and explore pre-existing ones in more depth.

If there’s one thing you could improve, what would it be?

I wish I had more chances to show my understanding and skills in the department. I felt a bit limited by the length of the rotation and by other circumstances during it.

When do you have the most fun at work?

When I am interacting with team members and those from other departments. I enjoy hearing about the progress being made on the projects and having the chance to discuss my own work and gain a new perspective.

What has been your most successful project to date?

I compiled a database with an accompanying Pivot table that will be used as a reference point for future work on the company’s upcoming products.

What do you like about working at this company?

That I can work alongside enthusiastic, like-minded people and that the work I am accomplishing here is going to benefit the care of other people.

We're wishing Isaac the best of luck in his next rotation! You can also see his first blog on our YouTube channel.